New World is a massively multiplayer online role-playing game, developed by Amazon Game Studios and has been released on September 28, 2021. Many players were looking forward to naming their character something unique and wished to lock it in but are confused as to how they can reserve a character name and if they delete the character is the name available or still reserved? There are a lot of questions and assumptions regarding the naming system in New World, we will answer these questions by explaining how you can reserve a character name and under which circumstances will it not be available for you.
Some points to remember and be aware of regarding names in New World have been listed below.
- Names in New World are global, and hence it is completely first come – first serve, hence, if a player from NA takes a name then it is locked to their account and someone on a different region server such as EU cannot use it.
- Company names are also Global, however, there is a slight difference, with character names and company names, once a character is deleted the name is still locked to the account for a short amount of time, as compared to the company name which will be available for anyone to use instantly once removed.
One of the issues which have been stated by players is that since the names are global and the game was being released in different regions at different times, then most players won’t even have a chance to get the name they wish to keep, for instance, the game was released in NA first and then in EU later, hence, players in NA were able to grab most of the popular names without giving EU players even a chance.
How to lock in your character name?
Coming to the main topic which is how exactly can you lock in your character name in New World, read our short guide below.
- To lock in your character name, you have to simply create a character on any server, this will be enough to lock the name to your account. It’s not necessary to even enter a game
- If you wish to play on a different server with the same name then simply delete the character, the name is still locked to your account and will be available for you to use again in a couple of minutes after deleting your character
- The name will be bound to your account for close to 90 days after deleting your character, after which it will be available to all players
Finally, if you are wondering whether your Pre-Order content can only be used with one character, then we should inform you that is incorrect. The content which is available to you through Pre-Order is bound to your account and hence in case you decide to delete your character and switch servers, the content will be available for you on your new server as well.